top of page

China Day 43

Here we go; my last full day in China…

Long story short:

  • Wake up: 9:30

  • Packing: I finished packing up my stuff and then cleaned the bathroom and bedroom. It’s sad seeing the room look so empty.

  • Lounging: I got to lie on the couch and eat sushi as I waited to depart for my host family’s house.

  • Sickness: I asked for a glass of water, because my sinuses were acting up, and my host mom got really concerned about me. She didn’t understand what my sinuses were and didn’t understand why I was taking medicine. She thought I had some serious ailment, and I tried to tell her not to worry about me, but I couldn’t clearly communicate that.

  • Misunderstanding: My host family thought that they had all of Sunday with me, but I actually had to be at 南大 at noon so I could check into my room. It was a sad parting, because my host sister wanted me to take her to Zifeng tower. I feel really bad for having to leave way sooner than expected, but there should have been better communication.

  • Goodbyes: My host family’s car is somewhere else, so we had to lug all of luggage to school via the subway. I wanted to carry my own stuff, but my host dad refused to let my drag my suitcase and carry my big backpack. He did not need to do that for me, but I appreciate the gesture. The goodbyes we’re shorter than expected, because I thought that they’d stay back for a little while, but they didn’t. I gave everyone a quick hug (I think my host mom was tearing up), and then they were gone. I made promises to text them once I arrived in America.

  • Shopping: I found out that I’m having dinner with most of my family on Thursday, so that meant I had to buy more souvenirs. How am I gonna lug all this back to the US??

  • KTV: Everyone went to KTV from 2:30 until 7:00. The environment felt like a prom, but without the formalities. We also got to do superlatives and I got “Most Creative”

  • Dinner: Tangbaooo

  • Treats: We went to thirsty frog for dessert, and Justin bought me a pie.

  • Last night in China: Anushka and I did face masks, and Prindle, Marshall, and I watched the first 20 minutes of Rent.

Tags:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page