top of page

China Day 41

Long story short…

  • Wake up: 6:45

  • Breakfast: Pear, dumplings, and peanut milk

  • Class: We had our finals in both our classes today. The first final was easy, but with my luck, I ended up having to read the two columns of characters I knew the least amount of. Rip. The second test was hard, but our teacher let us work together, so I ended up getting an A. Woo! Everything was super chill today, and one of the teachers brought her dog to school.

  • Re-orientation: We had to be told about reverse culture shock and what to expect when we come back to America.

  • Free time: Master plan was to go to the print shop, print my host family’s gift, and then spend the rest of my money at the 南大 store. Afterwards, Nush and I were going to try and find a place to get my hair dyed. We ended up getting rained on on the walk to the store, so I bought an umbrella. I still wish I bought a cup, but oh well. I had 50 kuai left, so I gave my card to Ben since he got his money stolen. (rip again). As for getting hair dyed, that didn’t happen because the place at 南大 said they wouldn’t color my hair an unnatural color, and the second place we hit up wanted 1000 RMB. They’re funny. They think I’m going to pay that. Nush and I ended up walking around the mall and buying food. Also, I just wanted to buy snacks, but the lady at the store kept following me and stressed me out. I wanted to shop in peace. She ended up asking me something and I told her I didn’t speak Chinese. I then tried to explain that I was an American studying how to speak Chinese at Nanjing University, but I don’t think she could understand my accent. She then asked me if I spoke English, and I said yes. I was hoping that would mean she would stop following me, but lol jokes on me.

  • Getting ready: God bless you Jessica for having makeup. She made it so I didn’t look like an ogre in the photos.

  • Graduation: We put on our play, and then gave Margie her certificate. The host families then got their certificates, followed by the teachers, and then us. Afterwards we took a ton of photos. I’m glad it wasn’t a sad type of event, but tbh I was prepared to cry tonight.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page