top of page

China Day 34

Long story short:

  • Wake up: 6:45

  • Breakfast: Pear, fried dumplings, and peanut milk

  • Class: We had a 听写 in our first class and then afterwards, we worked on a worksheet. If we finished it, we wouldn’t have homework for the class, so that was nice. All of the first period was taken up by those activities, so for the second class, we watched some Chinese culture videos. We watched a really cool one about silk sewing and then another video about wood cutting. It was nice having those breaks , but I was also ready to fall asleep because the room was dark. In our third and fourth class, we had a party. We wrote down a name, a place, a time, and an activity, put the paper in a pile and then drew a new piece of paper. We then made a sentence with the things we were given. It was actually pretty fun. We also played “the paper game” and I got “best student”, “dream girl”, and “best hair” which were very flattering.

  • Superlatives: We’ve agreed to do superlative, and I’m going to make a survey monkey and certificates. We’re going to see if we can hand them out at our graduation ceremony next Friday. The superlatives that we finalized are: best dressed guy and girl, most creative, most likely to be an Olympic athlete, cutest couple, most huggable, most likely to become president, and class clown.

  • Stamp carving: We got to cut our own stamps out of stone. I’m actually proud of how mine turned out. Also Ben sliced open his finger because he was being extra, but what else is new?

  • Lol no community service for me: I had to yeef out of town, so I missed an hour of community service. I’ll be interested to see what Margie has in store for me.

  • Car ride: I took a nap on the four hour drive to where ever I currently am. (I should probs know, but oops). The car ride was actually productive as I got to finish my homework and make certificate templates. I also took some cute photos with my host sister.

  • New home: Okay, my host mom’s brother’s home is nice AF. Also they have the 空调 at all times, so bless my life.

  • Dinner: My host aunt is really good at cooking holy mother. There was pig, soup, fired dumlpings, duck, and some weird vegetable. I wish I could have eaten more because I feel like they think I don’t like their cooking. It’s not that, it’s just that I have a tiny stomach okay. I don’t want them to think I’m rude just because I don’t want to eat watermelon after a seven course meal.

  • A scare, why am I so useless: My host cousin has some medical issues, and ended up fainting in the bathroom. From what my host sister told me, it was unexpected because they came to Nanjing in order to go to the hospital. While there, they said everything was normal, so they assumed he’d be okay. It was really concerning hearing a moan and then having the entire family swarm into the bathroom. I wanted to help, but in the same respect, I knew I’d get in the way. There’s nothing I could have done in that situation, and yet I feel awful. It’s not a pleasant feeling watching everyone scramble, while you just sit there on your phone.

  • Towels: My host sister told me I could go take a shower, so I asked her where the towels were. She called her aunt and uncle, and basically there “are no big towels”. Like wtf? I have no idea what my host sister told me to do, but I ended up using my dress as a towel.

  • Beds: I’m sleeping on a sofa bed, and it’s the softest thing I’ve slept on in a month. Like omg this thing feels like a cloud. I’m in heaven.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page