top of page

China Day 24

​Long story short:

  • Wake up: 6:00 fml. I tried to sleep longer, but my hip wasn’t having any of that.

  • 姐姐: My host sister’s cousin is staying with us, so today my host mom asked me what I would like him to call me. I said that “Hayley” would be fine, but she was having none of that. Since he’s 13, the age gap is too big for him to respectfully call me by my first name. She insists that I allow him to call me 姐姐, which feels very strange.

  • Breakfast: I got doughnuts and some kind of bean drink. I was so upset because I thought it was going to be sweetened milk, but I should have seen that coming because the cup literally says 逗. Also I thought lost the straw for the drink and I was going to be really sad.

  • Car ride: Because my host family has relatives staying over, my host mom decided to drive me to school today. It was actually really nice to see my route to school above ground. It’s been a while since I’ve seen that part of the city above ground. The only down side was that we left the house at 7:00 which meant I got to school at 7:15, so I sat in the lobby by myself for 30 minutes.

  • 老门洞: We went to a place that had a bunch of street food. AND PANDA SHOPS!! There was an entire store dedicated to pandas and I’m so proud of myself because I only spent 75 kuai there. Justin Prindle spent more on pandas than he has on lunch for the past four weeks.

  • Community service project: Lunch squad went and worked on a food presentation. AKA we went in a room, made fun of each other, talked a little about manners, and clapped some erasers. We also learned that songs with 1000 BPM are an actual thing and it sounds like Satan himself.

  • Chips: I bought some Mexican Tomato Chicken chips and they’re actually really good.

  • Family reunion: Everyone and their grandmother is currently in “my” house and I’m shook. I really hope they aren’t spending the night because I don't want someone sleeping on the couch when my host family has given me an entire king size bed to myself. That feels slightly wrong.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page