top of page

China Day 9

Long story short:

  • Wake up: 6:30

  • Breakfast: my host mom put my breakfast in a bag and I’m so happy. I had a breakfast sandwich with upsetting meat floss, my Chinese berries, and fried dumpling skin.

  • Traffic: Traffic laws in China are merely a suggestion. Turn left on red? Go for it! A car stopped for .2 seconds to turn? Honk your horn several times to let them know that they are the literal scum of the earth. Pedestrian trying to cross the street when they have the right of way? Honk at them for being a massive inconvenience right before almost hitting them. I literally had 10 seconds before the light turned red and some white van honked at me because he wanted to turn left on a red light. Tbh if I had been half a second faster, he probably would have hit me. Protip: only cross the street when other Chinese people are also crossing the street.

  • Class: the usual

  • Lunch: two dishes of chicken and white rice; today was a good day

  • Cultural activity: tai chi

  • River walk: I took Ben, Justin, and Jessica down to the Yangtze River since it’s a ten minute walk away from my house. We bought watermelon drinks and ice cream.

  • Dinner: rice with stuff to mix in

Today was pretty mundane, but not bad.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page