top of page

China Day 38

Holy hell why is it August?

Long story short:

  • Wake up: 6:45

  • Breakfast: grapes, pancake?, and peanut milk

  • Class: Yesterday everyone had to give presentations about anything they wanted to, and I thought I managed to evade this activity, but I was wrong. First thing the teacher said was: “Hayley, you didn’t present.” Fml. I ended up asking my class what they would like me to educate them on and Anushka said panda diplomacy, so I used the entire 50 minutes to talk about pandas. It was pretty lit because I actually had my laptop on me, so I was able to whip out my panda power point from Chinese club. I wouldn’t say my presentation was great by any means (it was pretty rough actually), but I’m still proud that I had that power point.

  • Lunch: I bought Jessica some food and Prindle lunch so now I’m out of debt with both of them. Woo. (Also can Skyways be less expensive, please and thanks)

  • IOPPs: We got to listen to more IOPPs

  • Museum: We were supposed to go to the Nanjing Massacre Museum, but the bus driver ended up taking us to the wrong museum. We didn’t even know until my group of people finished looking around the place we were dropped off. Jessica and I ended up going to take arty photos, and hot damn is she good that that. Like she knows how to make someone model. I accidentally ended up walking on a memorial, but we’re not too sure. We just thought it was part of the building’s aesthetic. But anyways, we figured out we were in the wrong museum when Margie started frantically calling and texting everyone. She was really upset because the two other chaperones that were supposed to go with us were sick, and she was left to deal with us alone. I feel bad for her. Also random side note: I was holding hands with Anushka at the museum and this guy turns around and goes: “oh, American lesbians” but he said it in Chinese. I was so shook; it was so funny.

  • 老门东 : I bought more panda stuff, but not for me this time! I bought gifts for my friends and family. I got panda socks, chopsticks, a scarf, and a plate. I’m so worried; how am I going to get all this back home???

  • Dinner: Rice, seaweed, and fish soup

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page