top of page

China Day 50

I was going to wake up at 5:30 because Hannah was going to wake up at 5:00, do her makeup, and then, come to my room so I could it, but I woke up naturally at 5:00, so I said screw it and got up anyways.

I was so tired, and my eyes were red, but we out here trying to get that golden hour.

We assumed my roommate was going to come with us to take photos, but when she woke up at 6:00, she looked up at us, said 太早了, and then fell back asleep, so we headed out by ourselves.

We went to the library, the pavilion, some arch, and the lake and got some really aesthetic photos. Unfortunately, golden hour didn’t really happen because there was a lot of pollution, but at least we had an overcast to create some really soft lighting. Originally, we were using my iPhone to take photos, but the iPhone doesn’t really hide your flaws, so I asked Hannah to switch to her program phone. So much better, but it lacks portrait mode, which is the only drawback.

Also, since Hannah did cosplay, she knows how to pose, and since I’m a film major, I know how to take a decent photo. We make a pretty good team in my opinion. All her photos turned out amazing, and she looks like she belongs in those photos. Idk how to describe it, but they look legit. I think my look okay, but I don’t know how to pose, and I’m really awkward when it comes to having my photo taken. Also, I don’t think the purple hair really helps with the aesthetic of my photos, but oh whale.

Since no one was there to take our photo, we couldn’t really get any photos together except for selfies, so we decided to ask someone to take our photo. There was this guy standing outside the library, so I asked him, but we couldn’t really understand what his answer was. At some point, I’m 90% certain I heard him say 旧, so my assumption was that he was saying “I’m not taking the photo because I’m too old and I don’t know how.” In our defense, he had a thicker Chinese accent.

After the photo shoot, we went to the 餐厅 to get breakfast, and I got a chicken wrap. 10/10 would recommend. 0/10 would not recommend eating something greasy in a Chinese traditional outfit without napkins. I ended up having to wash my hands without soap, and then got my phone covered in oil. #waterandoildon’tmix

We went back to the dorms and then chilled in Hannah’s room for a moment. I closed my eyes for 15 minutes, and I think that was enough to recharge me, but I decided to go back to my room and sleep.

A two hour powernap is what I needed, but I awoke with the most intense Charlie’s Horse I’ve had yet. I just sat there in pain for 30 seconds as I waited for to go away. The cleaning ladies actually came in right as it was done, but the muscle was so tense and tight that I couldn’t even walk on my leg, so I just hobbled out of my room.

While I was sitting on the floor, I ran into Kevin and forgot that I couldn’t get the eyeliner off, so I probably looked like I had the worst eye bags ever. The comment “I was confused because you don’t normally wear makeup” through me off for a second because I never wear makeup lol.

I sat in my room until it was time to go to the trampoline place. Hannah, Korey, and I went to go get 肉夹馍for lunch, and then I bought a blueberry tea. Also, we found the place where you can print photos, so I planned on coming back when we have more time to print some.

While I was eating my food, I saw this cat walking around me, which was cute until it started hitting me. We realized that it really wanted my food and kept following me around. What a bold little kitty.

I ran into my roommate while we were on shidalu and she gave me a stuffed animal, which was sweet.

So, I was under the assumption that we were supposed to meet at the new west gate, but that was wrong, so we stood outside in the sun for 30 minutes. There was this Chinese baby that was so fascinated with Korey, and the child’s mom kept trying to make her kid speak to him. It was kind of adorable.

The bus ride to Double One took an hour. Originally, I was standing, but then a seat opened up. I watched Korey play games on his phone for the time being.

The trampoline place was slightly underwhelming, and had a lot of kids, but it was fun. We jumped into a foam pit, watched some people do some lit ass tricks, and then hogged a corner to ourselves. Korey was showing off by doing a bunch of flips. He also bounced Hannah and I really high, so that was fun.

We tried to make Hannah do a front flip/backflip, and she almost did one. I’m very proud of her, because I could not do that lol.

At some point, Korey hurt his neck while doing flips, and Katey asked him what she wanted us to tell him mom if he died. He couldn’t think of anything and just said “uhh…” so that’ll be the message we pass on. I made the joke that “oh yeah, Korey survived a war in Afghanistan, but was killed by a trampoline,” to which Katey followed with “he was taken out by a tramp, and not in the fun way.”

We all attempted to do tricks, but a bunch of us ended up falling and/or hurting ourselves. Katey took a pretty gnarly tumble and almost died, so that was good.

Also, Korey and Cayleigh were trying to do some bounce trick, but Cayleigh landed slightly before Korey, and it launched her really high, and we almost witnessed death as she almost landed on him. I’m not sure how no one died.

My roommate kept wanting us to get group photos, which while greatly appreciated, is hard when you’re sweaty and on a trampoline. Korey was literally leaving puddles of sweat and kept sliding.

We left around 5:00ish and didn’t get to school until 6:00ish? Hannah, Korey, Cayleigh, and I went to go get dumplings on shidalu, and we ran into Kevin. We had our din din, and then the girls went to go get drinks and print photos.

Hannah and I wanted to get a photo with our guy, but he wasn’t the one who served us, and we were too awkward to ask at the point. We did try something new however, and via Cayleigh’s recommendation got some milk tea. It. Was. Awesome.

We went to go print some photos, and I printed one of me and my roomie for her birthday, and then did one of me, Korey, and Hannah for funsies.

After photos, we headed back to the dorms, took showers, and then prepared for KTV.

My host mom actually called me, and I could understand her Chinese, but I was still struggling, so I had my roommate help me. She didn’t know what it wasn’t me speaking Chinese, so she was like “wow you’re Chinese has improved so much since last year” which made me die a little. I love her.

I’m running low on money again which is not good. I thought I had a secret stash somewhere, but apparently, I already spent that, so that was my bad.

Hannah, Cayleigh, Korey, Kevin, Rachel, and I waited downstairs for Holden. At first we thought he was just going to bail on us, but he did in fact come along.

KTV was amazing as usually, but it was expensive this time; however, it was the most fun I’ve had because it was just the Americans, so we were just screaming English songs for two hours straight.

I’m really gonna miss these people.

< PREVIOUS NEXT >

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page