top of page

China Day 47

I forgot that today was the first of August until I looked at my watch to write the date on my tingxie, and I may have had a small existential crisis. First of all, the program is almost over, and second of all, this means that I have to go back to college in less than two weeks.

The wifi was down in the classroom building this morning, which was both good and bad. Good because it meant I wasn’t checking my phone every five minutes, but bad because I actually didn’t understand the grammar today, and I couldn’t use google to find an English explanation.

Thankfully, the internet did come back up during our first break, so I was able to look up the difference between 在…上 and 在…下. Honestly, I’m not sure what’s happening anymore, but every week feels like counting down the days until the weekend.

During our second break, Hannah a video popped up on Hannah’s program phone, and it was about contraception. We watched it because, one, it’s funny, two, it’s educational, and three, it’s in Chinese. At some point in the video, they said 真被好, and if our listening comprehension skills are correct, then they said “you need to prepare well for sex.” That’s some quality education right there.

Our teachers actually walked in on us watching the video, and they were so confused as to why we were actually watching it. They didn’t even know what it was at first, so I used the most useful word I learned in Nanjing and said “啪啪啪以后” and got the most abhorred. When a picture of sperm popped up, Yang Laoshi asked “is that the man stuff?” and we all kind of died.

In drill 2 we talked about students taking part time jobs and why they do. I explained my position in admissions, and then shared why Americans should share their salaries. It’s kind of complicated, but if you’re interested, just youtube “Adam Ruins Everything, Wages.” I did the best I could to explain that video in Chinese, and I think I did an okay job.

I had noods for lunch, but they weren’t the type I normally get. 5/10 probably won’t eat again. Also, because we watched the contraception video, we had a discussion about different sex words in Chinese. I didn’t realize how many words pertaining to sex I knew in Chinese, but here we are.

Basic rundown:

  1. 啪啪啪 is slang for sex because it’s representational of “the sound of sex.” Pleco translates it to “jig-a-jig.”

  2. 手淫 means masturbation. The only reason I know this one is because I was looking up the word for radio (which is pronounced the same way but with different tones), and the second result that came up was masturbation. Good job China.

  3. 口交 means oral sex. I learned this one from Korey because he told me a friend went to ask for a facemask (kouzhao) and ended up asking for oral sex (koujiao). Every time I try and say mask now, I get a little more scared because I can never remember which one it is.

  4. 手交 so if we’ve established that koujiao means oral sex, what do you think shuojiao could mean? That’s right: hand job. Yay deduction skills.

  5. 安全套 is the proper way to say condom (literally means safety cover) and 套套 is the slang.

  6. 按摩棒 (or massage stick) means dildo. We actually looked this one up today because we were curious to know what it translated to. I was so shook to see the characters for massage in there, but it makes sense.

After lunch, we went to go get ice cream. I got Oreo and some Italian flavor. Both a 10/10 would recommend.

In newspaper, we discussed our feelings on dating shows and then spent the rest of class watching 非诚勿扰. It’s basically live tinder.

I had my roommate help me with my homework, and then went to Hannah’s room to play runescape since my room is a literal deadzone. Idk why the wifi keeps cutting in and out, but it was so frustrating trying to play earlier.

So, I actually didn’t have a dinner buddy tonight because literally everyone was busy. Hannah had dance, Korey’s roommate had plans with him, Cayleigh, Logan, and Katey were seeing a movie with our newspaper teacher, and Rachel fell asleep.

I ended up just getting instant noodles, pocky, and chips from the 超市 since my roommate wasn’t here to judge my choice in dinner.

I did some more runescape, and it’s taking me forever to get to 32 quest points ugh.

Also, I’ve lost a lot of weight because I have a pair of jean shorts that I usually don’t like wearing because of how tight they are, but I’m now able to fit my wallet in the waist of my pants, and I still have room to spare.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page