top of page

China Day 21

I was fully prepared to yolo this test, but surprisingly, I think I understood the grammar to some degree. The tingxie was awful though because she gave us four words that we haven’t studied yet, and that was rough.

Surprisingly, I did well on my oral even though I didn’t prepare that much for it. Yang Laoshi told me that the content of my orals is great, but my pronunciation is still bad and I say um too much. She told me that she’d bump my grade up from a 4.9 to a 5 if I could fix those two things, but that’s not really an incentive to improve lol.

Hannah and I got lunch together and then I went back to the dorms to do my essay. I managed to do most of my homework, so really the only thing I have to do is study.

Rachel, Hannah, and I got the time for wushu mixed up despite it being told to us in English, so we ended up being 15 minutes late. We expected Philly to be mad at us, but instead, he told us he thought we were dead.

On the 15 minute walk to the studio, I got hit by a car. And I say this in the most dramatic way possible because it sounds funnier, but really all that happened was I was walking and all of a sudden, there was a car on my body. I thought that I had just walked into a car, but then it continued moving onto my body, and that’s why I realized I was being run over.

Wushu was long, and they didn’t start until we were all there which was kind of funny. We had to do a lot of exercises and I was not here for that.

We ended up getting to leave early because we had to catch our train to Chengdu. Level 300 + Logan headed out. We gave Daniel a birthday crown and he actually wore it for the rest of the day.

The train station is insane and is basically like an airport. Level 300 went to 麦当劳 to get some chicken nuggets (which translates to chicken chunks and I’m here for that). We ended up eating on the subway floor because there were no seats.

Boarding the train was the most efficient thing I’ve ever done. Basically, if you weren’t ready with your ticket to board, you had five seconds to get ready.

I thought I was going to be sitting on the train by myself, but then Logan showed up and sat next to me because people took the seat he had, so he took theirs instead. It was really nice having someone to sit next to because I was fully prepared to sit there and study the entire train ride. We had some good conversations.

When we got off the train, I realized that everyone actually sat together and that I was supposed to sit alone. I’m so glad Logan joined me.

We ran around the metro for a while trying to figure out how to get to the hotel. We originally were going to take a taxi, but then we decided it was more efficient to take the metro.

When we got to the hostel, we ran into a slight issue. Turns out that you’re not supposed to book two rooms for 11 people. Since we book dorm rooms, we assumed we only needed to book two, but turns out your booking the beds and not the rooms, so the guy was really confused. Thankfully, I only had to deal with this in English while everyone else was running around being questioned by a strange man.

For a hot second, I was worried that we’d be sleeping on the floor/not in the same room. Luckily we got everyone in the same room so my head was not on the floor.

The rooms are super nice and the mattress is actually very comfortable. There’s wifi and AC so I couldn’t be happier.

Everyone went out to eat (or attempted to), but the guys left the girls. Also, we assumed that Daniel would be with the guys, but he wasn’t. Cayleigh and Rachel said they saw some guy following them out of the corner of their eye and were freaked out. Turns out it was Daniel wearing a face mask and being silent.

We ended up walking around and finding a sex vending machine which was hilarious. We were unsuccessful in our attempt to find food, so we had to go to the 超市 and buy snacks to sustain us. I ended up getting some Oreo pocky.

When we got back to the hotel, we got towels, asked about the panda tour, took showers, and went to bed at 2 in the morning.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page