top of page

China Day 18

I was in a much better mood today, so I think yesterday was just hormonal and stress.

The events of each day are starting to blur together because everything is so jammed packed, but drill two was amusing as always. Today, Hannah accidentally said “如果我想结婚他们” as in “if I want to marry them,” but in Chinese, they singular isn’t a thing, so it sounded like she said if she married multiple people. Our teacher got a kick out of that.

Also, my teacher probably thinks I only care about money, because I mention that my 男朋友 must have money if they want to marry me. The only reason I say that for my answer though is because it’s easy to say.

Everyone else always says they want their boyfriend/girlfriend to be smart, so then I brought up the phrase “I’d rather be crying in a Mercedes than a cardboard box.” Apparently, there’s a phrase similar in China which is “I’d rather be crying in a BMW than on a bike.” #culturalexchange

I read the newspaper 20 minutes before class started, and somehow I actually managed to get the meaning of it. It was talking about how only children have issues because we’re sad and lonely. They said that only children made it hard on their parents because they have no one to help take care of them when they’re older and that parents suffer from empty nest syndrome sooner. I resent those remarks.

We switched 一对一 teachers, and my new teacher is kind of harsh on me. It’s not that I dislike her, but when I asked for help on the grammar, she looked at me and asked: shouldn’t you have gone over this in your first-period class. To which I responded with pulling out the grammar packet and saying: no. Also, she wouldn’t let me leave until I said my own sentence using the grammar pattern.

I told Korey about it on the way back to the dorms and he laughed and said that I might have gotten his old teacher because he used to do drills like that with her. So now I’m just suffering.

While I was doing my homework, my roommate was looking over my shoulder and reading my book. I asked if she had her English textbook on her because I wanted to see how it compared to my Chinese book. It was basically the ACT, and I was shook. I didn’t even know what was happening. The English was correct, but it was strangely written. The first sentence took up five lines alone. Now I know why the Chinese like long sentences; the longer the better apparently. The problem is that no one actually speaks in like that, and honestly, it was basically a run-on at that point.

The first chapter was about catching crabs for god’s sake. And it was worded like: “on the afternoon of July 4th, when the sun had reached its peak in the sky, the heat bearing down on the people below, and the tide gently rising, the fisherman lowered his net into the water, waiting for the fish to take even the slightest nibble on the bait he had prepared earlier that morning.”

It’s excessive. They might as well just let them take the ACT; I’m sure they could pass it.

I did my homework and actually managed to finish at a decent hour. Dinner squad when to eat, and then I hung out with Korey for the rest of the night because I didn’t really feel like being in my room.

We watched part of Joe Dirt, clips on some other random movies, and then all of This is the End, which was one of Korey’s favorite movies when it came out. It’s about the rapture and a bunch of celebrities trying to survive. It’s like a mixture of a shit post and a serious movie.

We then watched some teen reacts and fail compilations. Neither one of us realized how late it was getting, and eventually, my roommate dragged me out of Korey’s room. She didn’t even give me a hot second to grab my wallet and glasses.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page