top of page

China Day 17

My roommate woke me up at 8:00 this morning and asked what time I had class. I was really tired and very annoyed at this point because she asks me this question every morning, and every time I respond with the same answer: 8:50.

She then told me: yeah, but it’s 8:00, so you should go to class. I told her that I didn’t need to go to class, and tried to sleep for another 15 minutes, but it was pointless.

I spent most of the day mad about that, but here’s the thing: turns out that this is all my fault, and I’m an awful person. I kept saying I had class at 8:05 instead of 8:50, so she thought that I was choosing to be intentionally late every day. So now I know that I should really relearn how to tell time and that any misunderstandings are definitely on my end.

The reason I was so on edge today, aside from starting my period, was because Philly sends a vaguely worded message saying that someone had violated one of the CLS policies. None of us appreciated him calling us all out about something that we didn’t even understand. Niam later got the tea, and apparently, it’s just one student with issues. I think it’s unnecessary to call everyone out for one person’s problems though.

In drill 2, we had to discuss a time we participated in a wedding. I was looking for a picture of the time I participated in my cousin’s wedding, and then it dawned on me: I should convince my teacher I was married.

So, my high school is weird. I went to an all-girls college prep school, and we graduate in white dresses that strongly resemble old-timey wedding dresses. We also graduate in a church and have flower girls lead us down the aisle.

My favorite thing to do is convince people who know nothing about Memphis is to convince them that I’m married by showing them my graduation photos plus a photo of me and my friend. I tell them that said friend is my wife. A lot of people believe it for a hot minute.

Our teacher was so shocked when I said I was married, and my classmates were more confused than anything. I showed the teacher all my convincing photos, and the one that got her was one of me actually walking down the aisle. I think she was more shocked when I said I married a girl and show a picture.

I eventually told the truth and did my real oral, but that killed a lot of time, so I’ll take what I can get.

I forgot to bring my umbrella and it was pouring, so I had to huddle next to Hannah to avoid the rain.

Newspaper was interesting because we talked about the One Child Policy, which was obviously my thing. Also, thanks Katey for accidentally telling Phillip to stay. She said 你想谈一谈 and he heard 看一看, so he stayed for the entire class.

We had an hour break because we didn’t have our one-on-one, and I spent that trying to figure out the homework. Korey made a meme out of me from one of the pictures he took of me on the subway. It was quality.

At 3:30, we had the test we were all dreading, and I’m sure how well I did.

My oral was good, but my tones still suck. My teacher says my writing is really good though, so I’ll take that. I texted Lin Laoshi, and she said she was proud of me and posted my essay on her wechat.

I left the school around 6:00. At 6:30, Hannah, Korey, and I got dinner at the restaurant by the school. I ordered the noodles I had Sunday, and when I went to get my food, the lady told me it wasn’t mine. I was confused because her accent was so thick, and I couldn’t understand what she was saying. Eventually, I put the food back, waited for a few minutes, and then got yelled at to take my food. Like, girl, I see you: that was mine, to begin with.

I studied for a while, and then Katey texted me that she and Logan were going to watch a movie. We ended up watching Avatar because Kevin was trying to watch it on Youku, but he couldn’t find the subtitles.

Avatar was funny because they didn’t bother syncing up the dialogue. Also, it’s funnier to watch something when you’re only catching 50% of it. We kept making jokes about speaking Chinese when the characters did something funny.

Also, because I forgot to mention this earlier, we’re no longer going to hold pandas because the tour wanted 1800 kuai per person in addition to the $125 ticket we bought. We canceled because that was ridiculous. So that was another thing that went towards my sour mood.

I’m good now, but I have a headache and I need to sleep.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page