top of page

China Day 11

I’m sleeping to my alarm, which means that I find the beds comfortable. The bad news is that I’m sleeping to my alarms, but I’m still going to bed late. I could do that in Nanjing because of when I’d naturally wake up, but apparently, that’s not going to work here.

Class was per-usual.

Drill two got fun when I got to draw a map of America on the whiteboard. Our teacher was asking what the climate was like from where everyone was from. We explained that we weren’t all from the same region. I did a killer oral on why I hate Memphis weather.

I got lunch with Rachel, Hannah, and Cayleigh and we had a pow-wow.

Newspaper class was better today because we were talking about social media. Our teacher sent us some funny videos from a popular app in China. It’s kind of like vine in that you make 15-second videos with music. The article we read is heavily biased because it said things like “this is the number one app with more downloads than Facebook, Instagram, and Google.” Like, of course, it’s the number one downloaded app; it’s not blocked by the government. Second of all, China has way more people than the rest of the world.

I think that was the most interesting part of the media—seeing how the government influences something as insignificant as the number of downloads on an app.

I went back to the dorm to work on homework and thought we got lucky today because we didn’t get a worksheet for homework. Turns out she forgot to give us one, so Rachel had to bring that to us.

At 6:30, the Chengdu crew convened in my room to figure out the hotel room situation and the returning train situation. There were probably 8 or so people in my room at once, and it was actually kind of fun. Logan helped me a lot with understanding how to book a room. We’re all really confused as to why it’s so cheap if it had A/C and wifi. Since we’re bunking, it’s only going to be around 11 kuai for the girls and 9 kuai for the boys. We’re thinking we’re missing something here, but we can’t figure it out.

Also, Isaac and Jason might be joining us now, so now we’re up to 12. I just really hope everything goes to plan; I don’t know how I feel about being the one responsible for this trip.

Once everything was sorted, Hannah, Logan, and I went to dinner at a restaurant by the Muslim 餐厅. We had dumplings, and while I wish I had some soy sauce, they were still good none the less.

Logan hung out in my room while he waited for his AC to kick in, and we talked about government and what not.

After returning everyone’s possessions that they left in my room, I was able to start studying for the 听写. I also get to text Kristin, and we had a brief pow-wow.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page