top of page

China Day 2

We took the placement test today, and oh boy was it rough. I know that it’s supposed to be hard, but ah oof, it’s not fun leaving almost an entire section blank. I think I did okay on the listening, the multiple choice I have no clue, I was only able to fill in the blank for three of the grammar questions, the translations went from 0 to 100 real quick, the reading sucked, and the writing kicked my ass because I don’t know how to write characters from memory.

The oral was fine though because I was in control of the conversation. At one point, they asked me to explain the one child policy and my opinions on products made in China for America. I was kind of able to answer the one child policy question because of NSLI-Y, but I totally bluffed the second question. I said I thought products made in China were good because my iPhone was made in China, and I love my iPhone.

Good news is I had almost five hours of down time since I finished so early. Dianna and I went to go get boba and then lunch. Afterwards I kind of just lounged.

Around three, we got our language placement results and I’m in the level 300 class (second lowest), but I’ll take it. We had our first “class” which was kind of just introductions. I actually knew what was happening and got to explain some vocab to my friends.

Daniel didn’t know that 老公 means husband, so I had to explain and give an example in Chinese. I ended up saying “You know our favorite game? Well in it I married Takumi because I love him, so he’s my 老公.” Killer moment because 4/5 people in the class understood my reference. Hannah and Daniel died, but Rachel was confused. It’s a whole Fire Emblem thing.

So yeah, I actually know what’s up during class. The thing I did not like was that our teacher gave us homework before class even officially starts, and tomorrow we have a 听写 over 22 characters, plus, we have to read and narrator a textbook passage.

I probably spent four hours working on everything in total. The 听写 is going to kick my ass.

Thankfully, my roommate helped me with my homework (bless her.) I ended up going to bed around 12:30 because we stayed up to watch some Moana.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page