top of page

China Day 11

Long story short:

  • Wake up: 6:40, five minutes before my alarm

  • Breakfast: noodles with soup on them and fried rice

  • Class: the usual

  • Lunch: I went to the third floor of the cafeteria but got scared by the newness so I bought some drinks and ate Ben’s dumplings. Also, my fear of having to speak to someone in Chinese happened when buying my drinks because I didn’t scan my card correctly, but I didn’t really know what she wanted of me so there was just 20 seconds of me going “什么?”

  • Cultural activity: We’re going to make fans with Chinese calligraphy, so our teacher told us to think about a theme that we want for our fan. I can’t really think of anything, so I’m using a Mulan quote: the flower that blooms in adversity is the most beautiful of all. After calligraphy, we watched our teacher ride a unicycle and then were taught how to ride it. I didn't want to get on because I don’t really trust myself not to break my face.

Hannah actually knew how to ride a unicycle, but it had been a while, so she didn’t know how to stop. All we hear is “she can't stop” as she rounded the hall at top speed. It was a sight.

  • Margie: I helped Margie find my house in exchange for homework help in English. Margie didn’t know how to help me though, so rip.

  • Home: I did the copious amounts of homework that were assigned (watch a movie, write a summery, two workbook pages, and study for a tingxie). You know what’s bad? When you ask native Chinese speakers and your RD to explain the homework/grammatical patterns and neither of them actually know the difference. I asked both my host parents and my host sister and they all told me: I don’t know the difference between these grammar patterns/I don’t understand. That’s when you know.

  • My host family is better than yours: My host mom ordered herself a glittery phone case and asked if I liked it. I said yes and then she said: “Okay! I’ll buy you one then!” I tried to tell her that she didn’t have to do that, and then I tried to tell her that’d I’d pay her back, but she said no. Basically I was just given a cute new phone case against my will. (Not that I’m complaining or anything :D)

  • Dinner: I feel so betrayed I ate a jellyfish for dinner. My method for food is “don’t ask” because I’d rather be ignorant and think: wow this food tastes great rather than be caught up on: shit I’m eating a jellyfish. Like I was just enjoying my rice and jellyfish in ignorance and all of a sudden my host mom starts playing the google translate voice reputedly. “jellyfish” “jellyfish” “jellyfish” “jellyfish” “jellyfish” I started laughing out of shock and fear and my host family was like: wait what’s so funny? I didn’t ask for this. I didn’t ask to know I was eating jellyfish, but here we are. I will say, I did learn a new word today.

  • AP Score: why should I study for my tingxie when I can worry about getting my AP scores?? I got the premium version (for free) of my VPN just so I could access my scores a day early. It took over an hour to get everything to work, and all the while my friends were losing their shit over their multiple fives and fours. Apparently taking three APs is “not a lot” but whatever bye. Also my AP Chinese score wasn’t available and I’m mad. I mean, I probably made a two, but that’s not the point. I want that score dang it. (I did make a 5 in environmental and a 4 in comp. gov. though)

I’m still shook from the jellyfish.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page