top of page

A Rant About Visas

Initially, I thought filling out a little extra paperwork for the Chinese Embassy wouldn't be a big deal. I figured being adopted from China and trying to get my "grubby little hands" on a Chinese study Visa wouldn't be a big deal.

Boy was I wrong.

We are 13 days out until I depart from Memphis to DC and I still do not have my Visa. The American Councils and I have exchanged several emails over the past few weeks about my visa and how the Chinese Embassy councilors keep asking for new things each time they visit.

When I was filling out the initial visa form, there was a section that said former citizens would need to fill out additional paperwork at a later date. Then, the paper work came: several declaration forms. I filled out two of these forms--one in English and one in Chinese. I also had to send along two blank copies in case NSLIY had to fix something for me.

And then the Chinese Embassy wanted old passports. We sent those. They said we didn't. Crap.

Now they want proof of adoption. We sent them "adoption papers." They were the wrong papers. They need different adoption papers. FML.

And now here we are: ten emails later and a hope that the Chinese Embassy will just give me my visa.

Here's the thing: I keep thinking that there's no way I'm actually going to China. It's gotta be a dream.

Now I'm worried I might not be going to Chinese because of this stupid visa.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page