top of page

OPI and Flight Details, Oh My!

Well, it's been a while hasn't it?

Initially, I wasn't going to make another post until after my OPI, but I feel a sufficient amount of time has past since my most recent post, and I've been feeling the urge to write.

So the first email I received was on May 1st with the subject "NSLIY Pre-Program Language Testing"

Oh s*** it's time for my OPI (oral proficiency interview). I'm assuming 95% of people who made it this far into the NSLIY process know what an OPI is, but for those of you who are fortunate enough to have never suffered—I mean experienced one, let me explain. (Although the name does the explaining for you, doesn't it?)

Basically, an OPI determines your proficiency in speaking in the target language. Language proficiency is divided into ten categories ranging from novice to superior.

Essentially, the purpose of this test is to determine my speaking abilities/benchmark abilities per-China. I'll have to take another one after I arrive back in the States to see how much I'll improve.

The nice thing about the OPIs are that you get to schedule when you want to have it. I choose to do mine on May 9th between the hours of 1-4 since I'm out of school that day. They sent me an email back, and the official time and date will be May 9th at 3:30.

I wouldn't say I'm nervous, but I also wouldn't say I'm super excited either. Because, here's the thing: I hate phone calls. I don't have a phobia of public speaking, but I absolutely cannot make phone calls to people, and I hate answer the phone just as much. (OPIs are over the phone instead of in person so RIP me).

I mean, I'm fine once I'm actually talking to the person, I guess. But it's the initial hurdle that I hate getting over. I just don't like anticipation I guess.

But as far as speaking abilities goes, I think I'm fairly decent at speaking, but idk how I'll do with listening comprehension. I'm just so used to only hearing my Chinese teacher (who I've had for six years) speak to me that I find listening to other Chinese speakers is hard. We'll see though. I thinking I might record my OPI and put parts of it on here for funsies.

OPI aside, the other email I got was my flight details on May 5!

Here's a great chart along with my flight path (which is realize is slightly inaccurate, but we're ignoring that fact)

The good news is that my layovers are long which means that I won't be rushing to catch a flight. The bad news is that my layovers are long, which means when I'm ready to go home, I'll be stuck in an airport for five hours, thank you very much San Francisco.

Also, can we take a moment to appreciate timezones (fun fact I'm really good at time zones). So I leave Shanghai on August 7th at 12:10 in the afternoon and then arrive in the US the same day, but at 8:40 in the morning. This is some kick ass time traveling shit if I've ever seen it.

The other funny thing I'd like to mention is that PDO is in DC, so instead of flying directly to DC, I fly out to Houston then to DC. I understand that direct flights are more expensive, but it's kind of funny that I'm flying west only to fly back east. I think it would make a little more sense to at least fly to the Atlanta airport in order to catch a flight to DC, but what do I know. Besides, I'm not complaining; I actually enjoy plane rides. I'm seriously looking forward to this 14 hour plane ride. I think we're supposed to fly over the North Pole, and I will fight my way to a window seat.

Thankfully, I've got a deal set up with some of my friends that I can have their window seat if I get stuck with an aisle seat. Seat trading's probably not allowed, but anything to get a peek at the North Pole, ey?

Long post, but there's been a lot to update on. :)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page