top of page

Returning Home and OPI

It's been so nice to be home, but it's a shame that all of is being ripped away from me since I leave for college today. The three days I had my bed... A1.

I think I've settled back in to my normal routine quite well; jet lag hasn't been too bad, but I hate the crashing sensation I've felt everyday at noon for the past three days. I'm recovering though.

I had my OPI today, and to be honest, I was much more nervous for the post-program OPI than the pre-program one. The main reason for this was because of my listening comprehension struggles while abroad, and this definitely did a number on my confidence. A big part of me was afraid that I wouldn't be able to understand anything the tester would say to me. Not to mention, this OPI actually has weight riding on it; I need to at minimum stay at intermediate-mid less my ego take a massive hit. Also, our OPI scores tell the state department how beneficial NSLI-Y is. There's funding cuts, and at PDO, they mentioned our OPI scores really mattered this year, because NSLI-Y is in jeopardy in the upcoming years.

Thankfully, my fears were quickly put to rest. I think I did better on my OPI this time, because I only said 我没听懂了 one time and 请再说一遍 twice. I was able use circumlocution and lying to make my way though this time. I don't know why I was so hung up on making my OPI truthful last time. (I mean, use words you know, am I right?)

But I guess this is the conclusion to my NSLI-Y adventures. It's been unreal.

Tags:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page